Baan Latsamy, Canberra 05-2014

I've always been a fan of the Melbourne Entertainment Book. My parents were avid fans of one local restaurant in Doncaster and would buy 3 books per year under the logic that 3 means in that place plus a few Brumby's coupons was enough to justify the cost. I think it's popularity has slipped (in my mind at least) when the removal of many great Melbourne restaurants from it - Jacques Reymond, Koko, The Point were probably my pick. Nonetheless there's some bargains to be had if you're going to head out.

Similarly I was a bit reluctant to invest in the Canberra version. Considering the relative unknown names in it (as basically all the well rated restaurants in Canberra are noticeably absent from it), it seemed potentially poor value. However I must admit after giving it more thought, the fact that dining out in Canberra is so very expensive, it doesn't take much to make up the $50 cost (or so) for it.

If nothing else, it gives an excuse to try some local neighbourhood places and hope for the best. Baan Latsamy is quite average in its online rating. Luckily I didn't see it this way.

- Hot Pot Roast Duck (slow-cooked in Thai herbs & spices served with steamed vegetables) - tender duck meat, mushrooms and vegetables in a heavily flavoured masterstock;
- Som Tum (shredded green pawpaw salad in spicy sauce) - ordered it "hot" which had a nice kick to the sour salad. Definitely hot Thai-hot (which is a good thing);
- Whole Barramundi steamed - nicely cooked whole fish in a deliciously simple soy/ginger broth with coriander;
- Saffron rice - it has the colour of saffron but tastes like it has soaked up hours of coconut milk. Could not stop eating it.

Maybe the full price cost has caused some of the negative ratings? I'm not sure. I'd be happy to come back here. Entertainment book makes it better naturally.

Next time I would order any of the same dishes, perhaps try the tom kha (which is my standard for nearly all Thai restaurants).

Baan Latsamy Thai Restaurant on Urbanspoon