Daci & Daci Bakers, Hobart 01-2016

It's a real shame I didn't get to sit down and eat at Daci & Daci. I visited on two separate occasions for takeaway and the range and quality were impressive. Honestly the main reason I sought it out was after reading that they have a fantastic rocky road (which is sitting waiting for me in the pantry).

I do think that charging an extra $5 for a sandwich to be eaten in rather than taken away is a little excessive. Maybe that's a good reason to get takeaway and go sit in a very nearby park or down by the harbour.

The first item I had was a sandwich (with smoked free range ham, Tasmanian smoked cheddar, rocket & spiced pear chutney). Because of the takeaway, I had it a day later after the bread had become stale. But nonetheless the serve was large, ingredients and flavours were nice and quite satisfying overall.

The second takeaway adventure was for a pissaladiere (with caramelised onion, roast tomatoes, black olives, feta & basil) and a tart (roast pumpkin, thyme, caramelised onion, goat's cheese & walnut). Both were sensational with the pissaladiere having strong flavours, the tart plenty of textures, and both good pastry.

It's quite a pricey place but the quality is excellent. I'll definitely be back, particularly to try some sweets (like a black cherry and pistachio tart).

03-2016

Unfortunately my rocky road went mouldy. I opened it around March 3rd (and the "best before" date was March 31, not a "use by" date) which was greatly disappointing. The mould was on a few surfaces as well as filling the crevasses made by the chocolate. I still cut a few samples just to try (which were fine but nothing overwhelming) but had to throw out a good 90% of it.

I emailed to provide feedback and it was suggested I should have put it in the fridge. Considering chocolate isn't typically refrigerated, the rocky road in store isn't refrigerated and nothing written on it suggests so, I thought that was an odd justification. In any case without my asking I was offered a replacement, and when I replied it was unnecessary as I live interstate, they offered to mail out. After a few weeks I received a Belgian cocoa hazelnut brownie which is sensational warmed and eaten with ice-cream. Thanks a lot!

Daci  Daci Bakers Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato