Doughnut Time, Melbourne 07-2016

I didn't realise Melbourne had become so donut/doughnut obsessed. It isn't surprising since I haven't particularly kept up to date and sweets aren't so much my thing. After a nice dinner at the old haunt of Vegie Bar, our table had a direct window view to the queue outside Doughnut Time. $6 for a donut? Really?? It's a marked increase from the 80c delicious warm jam-filled cinnamon little puffs at Footscray Station.

The donuts are photo worthy. In fact they are so Instagram-focussed, they advertise it in the shop window. It's the one thing I probably have noticed with sweets - it isn't about the quality so much (eg. freakshakes) as the decadence that appears in the photo.

I tried the Stallone - a donut with Rocky Road on top. The Rocky Road bits are standard - milk chocolate with small cubes of marshmellow. It was fine but I certainly still always prefer dark chocolate. The donut itself was cold (since it isn't freshly made to order) and the texture is quite firm with a very sweet glazing, both features identical to Krispy Kreme (which I'm also not a great fan of). I'd rather a soft, chewy and fluffed piece of mild sweetness.

Overall quite disappointing for me considering I can get a better one for 13% of the price.

Doughnut Time Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato