Molto, Canberra 07-2016

Even with the expansion of the Foreshore, I must admit there aren't that many exciting places to eat for dinner. Morks is great, the traditional Thai places are ok, the Chinese places I have never seen anyone inside, C Dine is ok but expensive and then there are the pubs. Meat & Wine is yet to open and will be a big event. Up until that point, there's Molto. I didn't know anything about it but it was the only place at 9pm on a Thursday night that was open and serving and looked like a good feed.

I'd heard the bistecca Fiorentina is a specialty (although I found it in Florence to be huge but not that impressive), but maybe next time if I'm with a bunch of carnivores.

- Millefoglie (eggplant & buffalo mozzarella with basil oil & salted ricotta) $17 - an excellent stack of grilled vegetables that reminded me of how good Remy's ratatouille must have been;
- Special of Spaghetti (cooked in a cheese and butter sauce, topped with a quail egg and slices of black truffle) - it reminds me of tajarin al tartufo blanco I had in Alba (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/osteria-dei-sognatori-alba-11-2012), albeit with cheese and a different truffle. The truffle had a mild but distinct flavour, better than my previous year's experience of the local Canberra black truffle. The cheese and butter sauce was thick and congealed on the plate quickly. It didn't look so appetising at that point but still tasted good;
- Special of Suckling Lamb (with slaw & apple sauce) - this was a beautiful piece of meat that simply tasted like quality lamb. What was more impressive was the crisp thin coating of skin that crackled around my teeth and was rich with flavour. Delicious.

The food is good, the setting is nice and the staff on this evening were very friendly. Not a bad addition to the Foreshore.

Molto Italian Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato