Amok, Melbourne 08-2016

I like exploring Windsor. After a couple of meals at the new Belle's and House of Hoi An, I was keen to look around more. There's so many restaurants and bars in an atmosphere more relaxed than in the northern parts of frenetic Chapel Street.

After my first Cambodian restaurant (other than in Cambodia of course) at Bopha Devi in Yarraville, I was keen to try another. Comparatively Amok is designed to be cooler (fitting in with the surrounds), with a menu that seems more modern using such ingredients like truffle oil and pomegranate. The menu reads beautifully.

- Stuffed soft shell crab, steamed Cambodian vermicelli, pineapple anchovy salsa, fresh green tangy dip $16.9 - a little expensive for the amount of crab, but it was crisp and flavoursome. The salad was lovely;
- Cambodian duck curry $29.9 - much milder than the intense Thai versions. It was different but nice although I would have liked much more curry sauce;
- Watermelon, lotus root chips, pickle ginger, salted Cambodian dry fish salad $8.9 - an interesting salad with the occasional chewy salty fish. Not as intense as the Cantonese salted fish;
- Red rice ball, avocado ice cream, seasonal fruits, boba, toasted coconut $10.9 - strong avocado ice cream negated my need for Pidapipo down the road. The red rice ball was exceptional with a warm centre and a mildly crisp (roasted?) external texture.

I was very happy with my meal here. There's so many other dishes that move beyond the Thai and Vietnamese of which I am much more familiar. I'll be back to try the salmon amok, lamb ribs, beef ribs and salads.

Amok Restaurant Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato