Bairaktaris, Athens 09-2010

After first revelling in the juicy flavoursome lamb souvlaki of Stalactites in Melbourne, I've always enjoyed a good one although generally later in the evening and occasionally the early hours of the morning.

Once I reached Athens, the first course was to visit somewhere for food. Bairaktaris happened to be in the main plaza, the meat drew us in, and fortunately my reservations about eating somewhere in the main square were quickly allayed. As much as I wanted, I wasn't able to eat there for the first meal, but the daytime before taking the overnight ferry to Santorini there would be no stopping me. And I wished I'd gone there earlier.

The pork giro was remarkable. The flavour I still dream of now rich with the grilled Maillard riddled throughout. I even wanted to use the 2 hour break at the airport before leaving to sneak out for a final taste but common sense told me missing the flight to Istanbul wouldn't be worth it (obviously). The pitas were thick and had soaked some dripping from the meat and the fresh salad and tzatziki balanced everything perfectly.

I'll come back for you.