Basta! Street Food Bar, Istanbul 10-2017

Unfortunately my fading memory and the space of time means that I forgot to attach my thoughts with these photos when I uploaded them.

Basta! is a modern take on the ever present (in the world) durum/doner kebabs. The way Jimmy Grants (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/jimmy-grants-melbourne-01-2014) transformed and modernised (even though the recipe is more traditional) souvlaki in Melbourne, Basta! has done the same in Istanbul. The chefs have Michelin-star experience and therefore bring the quality and prices along.

There isn't a lot of seating inside and there isn't any English translation of the menu. The staff try (with some difficulty) to explain what some of the items are, but in the end you'll probably be safe picking any of the durum. It was a mid-afternoon snack between lunch and dinner - perfect for the smaller size (but better in quality!). The hummus is a specialty of the venue also and if I had more stomach space or hadn't chosen the Sucuk durum, I would have ordered one of those too.

- Sucuk (homemade lamb chorizo, hummus) YTL21;
- Dana (smoked rib, pickle, mustard) YTL21.

Both were delicious with the quality of the grilled meats and sauces potently coming through. Even though I liked the thicker chunks of smoked rib meat, I was surprised to prefer the lamb chorizo. Maybe it was the spiciness or the hummus - either way I'd be keen to stop there if I ever find myself in Istanbul again.

Basta Street Food Bar Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato