Bibelot, Melbourne 03-2016

After brunch at Chez Dre, my inadvertent initial stumble into Bibelot and visual delight of chocolates and sparkling desserts meant I needed to look again. The gelato/sorbet list is extensive and each flavour individually reads like a special from any other place. I'm not a huge dessert person generally but I was told the small cakes here were better than Zumbo, Burch & Purchese etc. and so since in the area (and probably wouldn't be again for a while) I bought up large for takeaway.

1L gelato for $19.5 and 3 flavours started off. There's so many to pick from that although I wanted to taste a few, I knew it would take too long. I've had to leave the mandarin & yuzu, strawberry & lemon myrtle, amrood (since found out is guava) pineapple & chilli chocolate, coconut & pandan for another time.

Pistacchio gelato was mildly sweet, quite nutty and boosted by whole roasted pistacchios - excellent overall. Pear & ginger gelato was mild with intermittent chunks of crystallised ginger - unusual and great. Coconut & cherry chocolate sorbet was a mix of flavour with coconut being the most prominent - it was good but overwhelmed by the other two.

The beautiful gourmandise board $27 samples most of the cakes on display. The favourite two were the hazelnut-praline crunch (strong chocolate with crunching popping texture of the base) and the much lighter and softer manga, yuzu & coconut. Life with Bibelot and green tea dome were similarly light but very mild in flavour, and the other four chocolate options didn't wow me. The rose-raspberry macaron was very sweet (as expected) and a little too much for me.

I know what I'll be getting next time.

Bibelot Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato