Brothaus Cafe, Nuremberg 12-2017

I had a hire car from Europcar in Nuremberg. As I didn't want to pick it up from the airport (since I arrived after 10pm), the most convenient place to get to from the airport, stay at a cheap Airbnb, and pick up the car early the next day was at Schoppershof/Nordostbanhof only a few stops on the U2 line. After a very comfortable sleep, breakfast nearby Europcar was essential.

There's a big shopping centre which I'm sure has a few pickings but the bakery Brothaus Cafe nearby piqued interest. Out the front you can see enormous wheels of bread around 2kg which I would have been delighted to take with me. Sadly not on this occasion.

The cafe does some cold tiered platters which I assume are a more traditional type of German brunch. Luckily they also have a wide array of sweet and savoury breads including sandwiches. In the end the carbohydrate overload of an excellent (but soft based) pizza with cheese, tomato and anchovies, a croque madame of even more cheese, and a pretzel proved enough. The ham and salad ended up being take away with the heavily laden seed crust adding to the grain flavour of the bread. Excellent.

Unfortunately the coffee was bitter and terrible. You can't win them all.