Cow & Moon Artisan Gelato, Sydney 05-2015

Everyone likes a good gelato. Messina is the one in Melbourne and Sydney that everyone queues for, but Cow & Moon has the reputation. I first read about them when I was going to see the once-off Coldplay show at Enmore theatre to present A Sky Full of Stars. Unfortunately by the time the show finished, C&M had already closed.

It wasn't the biggest deal until I read a few weeks later they had actually won the title of best gelato in the world at a competition in Italy for their almond affogato flavour. Considering the amount of gelato I've eaten in Italy (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/gelato-trail-italy-07-2012) and to a lesser degree Spain, I couldn't see when I'd next have an opportunity to visit this place and test this flavour.

Interestingly enough on the second night of Vivid in Sydney, I was walking through Martin Place looking at the light shows that were honestly not overly impressive. What interested me was the food stall booths that appeared, and then there is was - Cow & Moon. I was hoping for the famous almond affogato and to try my staple benchmark pistachio, but unfortunately the former had sold out and the latter sold their last scoop 2 persons before me.

The flavours tried on this evening - from top left to bottom right:

- Hazelnut - good quality nocciola and my substitute for pistachio when not available. The best I've had still remains in Alba, who have their own famous hazelnuts, but this was an excellent milder version;
- Salted caramel and banana - good banana taste, didn't have the saltiness that I don't particularly like;
- Popcorn - very sweet, caramelised, a little too sweet for my usual liking;
- Dark chocolate - slightly bitter deep cocoa flavour.

I was slightly disappointed that there was an occasional ice crystal, but given the booth stall outdoors I have to be a bit forgiving. What I can say is the flavours were elegant, prominent and truly world class in quality.

I look forward to the next time.

Cow  The Moon Artisan Gelato on Urbanspoon