Frying Colours, Melbourne 07-2016

It's been a while since my last fried chicken craving. In actual fact I was craving Belle's Hot Chicken but didn't want to travel so far to wait in line. A satisfactory alternative was KFC - the Korean one, not the Kentucky one. It's been a little while for that too, the last being Arisoo in Melbourne http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/arisoo-melbourne-12-2015) or B-One in Canberra (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/b-one-korean-restaurant-canberra-07-2015).

They serve original, sweet soy and spicy. Other KFC places tend to have a chilli and a particular spicy sauce also. It would be interesting to see if their spicy was a nice heat that I like or more fiery and too hot for me to handle (like Gami). The price is a good 15% more than the other places so hopefully that reflected quality rather than the reputation (Broadsheet's favourite is mentioned outside) or the neighbourhood.

- Bibimbap Beef $19 - a nice bowl with good ingredients and an excellent gochujang (had to ask for a second container to make it as wet and spicy as I like). I'd prefer there to be more of the crisp crunchy base and I did ensure not to disturb the bottom until toward the end;
- Spicy Fried Chicken $39 (whole) - a nice bird with quite tender meat and a thick coating of crisp hot batter. The chilli was just enough and definitely not too hot for me although left a little burn;
- Wasabislaw $6 - coleslaw with a bit of wasabi tang in the mayo (as an aside I wonder if they make it themselves or use the Kewpie?).

The food is good. The flavours are nice. Most of all it's close to me and more convenient than Chimac or Gami or whatever else is around. The price is a bit higher so I'll suppose I'll just have to wear it.

Other than the bibimbap and fried chicken (which I'd order again, but less likely the slaw), the mandoo dumplings, tteokbokki, seafood stews and lamb ribs all also appeal to me.

Frying Colours Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato