I Love Dumplings, Melbourne 07-2016 & 09-2016

It's been a long while since I've wandered along Racecourse Road in search of lunch. I've driven a few times and thought I Love Dumplings had closed down this branch (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/i-love-dumplings-melbourne-01-2014). In fact I was correct - that branch did close down and a new one sprung up bigger than before such that I didn't realise. The big writing in red should've redirected me but I suppose I wasn't looking in the same place.

Using my last entry as a guide, I didn't have a lot of difficulty in choosing dishes. Fried meat dumplings, lamb ribs and whatever else.

- Wonton noodle soup $9.8 - a typical mild flavoured clear broth with thin egg noodles and soft wontons;
- Pan fried lamb & beef dumplings $9.8 + Sichuan chilli sauce $1 - an excellent dumpling with chewy skin (base could have been that bit more fried and crisp), a deep soft mince meaty core and an outstanding savoury sauce with a bit of tang (black vinegar?) and not enough chilli. I wonder if the sauce has chicken/pork broth added to it?;
- Deepfried lamb ribs with homemade chilli sauce & cumin $24 - the serves seem to be smaller than they used to (my previous picture has at least 2-3 more ribs) and they now serve the cumin salt and cold tangy chilli sauce separately. Still delicious with delectable meat and crisp skin.

On the lunch menu they also offer a quickie of rice & lamb ribs for $10. I wonder how many ribs you'd get for that price and if it is better value for money?

Next time I would order the lamb ribs and more pan fried dumplings to eat with the Sichuan chilli sauce. I suppose for variety the mapo tofu and other Sichuan things may be worth a try.

09-2016

I went back shortly after for dinner. After a short 10min wait (on a Friday night), a table was free tucked in the back corner minimally separated from another dining pair. Their calamari smells were alluring.

- Salt & pepper calamari (small) $9.8 - very heavily salted and flavoursome calamari that begged to be eaten with rice. One of the most flavoured without being overwhelming. A large size would be in order next time;
- Chilli green beans with pork mince $16.8 - another heavily flavoured dish with some bites of chilli coming through. The beans make it healthy, the pork makes it more filling;
- Fried tofu in Sichuan spicy hotpot $15.8 - it was served in a wok sitting on top of a flame. For some reason I expected the hotpot to be have more broth. It was fine but nothing special and wouldn't order it again.

I also got the lamb and beef dumplings but they didn't give me the Sichuan chilli sauce I ordered. I'll have to be more vocal about receiving it next time considering how good it is.

I Love Dumplings Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato