Lesehan, Bali 12-2014

I can't remember the name of the place. All I know is that I requested our driver stop us somewhere for lunch - somewhere he would eat on a usual trip between Amed and Seminyak. After leaving Karangasem Water Palace, he told us it would be a couple of hours. Suddenly about 10mins later he pulls up on the side of the road right next to a guy cooking satay.

What was different? This was fish satay.

There were only two things to select from - fish chunks on skewers or not on skewers. Both were delicious. The chilli was hot - an intensity I hadn't felt in the other more tourist friendly places we had eaten. The chilli dipping sauces were similarly powerful and excellent. This was easily the best satay in Bali, not because the rest were all chicken and beef and very cooked, but this had great flavour, texture and was fish!

As I ate one that looked a little raw/rare on the inside, I wondered if it would make it sick. It possibly did, with a small amount of stomach upset for a couple of days. I think the experience was worth it, but I'd probably have to think twice about doing it again voluntarily. Not everyone felt funny though, so maybe it was something else.