Lokanda Peskarija, Dubrovnik 10-2012

Just outside the east gates of Dubrovnik and connecting onto the harbour sits Lokanda Peskarija. What was interesting is that the reviews suggest a decent venue for seafood but without the prices you'd expect to be inflated for sitting alongside the harbour front.

For my last night, I ventured here to see for myself. I'm glad I did - it is well worth the combination of location, price and food.

Although on my own, I couldn't help but order enough food to several of me:

- Plata Peskarija (marinated and salted anchovies, fish pate, cheese kept in oil, octopus salad) HRK100 - anchovies were simple and satisfying, octopus salad was tender, fish pate was quite plain and cheese was a cheddar quite weak in flavour;
- Lignji na Caru (grilled squids) HRK75 - an intensely flavoured collection of whole grilled and charred squids in a delicious pool of salty oil and topped with lemon to be absorbed by bread. 

Next time I would order the Grilled Squids for an amazing flavour to make you smile. If there was enough appetite or people, the Platter Lokanda sounds nice to share and I'm sure they'd do a tasty Cuttlefish Risotto also.