Longrain, Melbourne 06-2016

It's been a long time since I was united with Longrain. There's nothing quite like the special birthday reminder to give me any excuse to revisit the beautiful drinks, the atmosphere and the pork hock. There are some visits where I feel the shared tables are too wide to comfortably have a conversation across it, but on this weekday late night, private tables were available.

Since my last Longrain post (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/longrain-melbourne-10-2012), I have been once for the pork hock but have also tried many modern Thai contenders, of which the most recent have been in Canberra (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/morks-restaurant-canberra-12-2015) and Melbourne (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/chin-chin-melbourne-05-2016).

- Caramelised pork hock with five spice & chilli vinegar $23.5 (entree) - as good as I remember. Outstanding mixed textures of meat, sweet thick coating and a little sprinkle of vinegar for contrast and added chilli hit;
- Jaew curry of snapper fillet with baby corn & betel leaf $36 - a much more thin liquid soup base than what I expected as a thicker curry. Nice fish, ingredients and a lighter flavour;
- Braised beef cheek, black vinegar, ginger, Chinese celery (special) - tender beef cheeks in a tangy black vinegar sauce.

The pork hock was still the best dish and flavour. I think partially as my cooking skills have improved, I realise I could possibly make the other two dishes with less difficulty (not to detract anything from the outstanding kitchen). I'd prefer the thicker curries and heavier flavours, as that has always been my association and affinity to Longrain.

Next time I would order the Pork Hock again (perhaps the large size and take the leftovers home). Of the current menu I'd add the Coconut-poached Chicken and Mussaman lamb curry or Red Curry Scotch Fillet (not that interested in scotch but I am in red curry), although I agree it's a heavy meat selection (albeit 4 different meats).

Longrain Melbourne Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato