MEATliquor, London 04-2018

It's been a long time (10/2013) since I ate the wonders of MEATliquor (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/meatliquor-london-03-2012). I still remember the unventilated smell of the original venue along with my first taste of chilli fries, the incredible hotdog and no queues at MEATmarket, and wanting to have the sundae at MEATmission.

With my luck there's a newish branch in King's Cross, where the staff tell me gets busy on Thursday/Friday after work, and otherwise not really without ever any queues. That is music to the ears of my stomach.

These places also have a £10 lunch deal where there is any burger and fries and soda. I went and naturally had to upgrade my fries for chilli fries.

I don't remember thinking that highly of the acclaimed Dead Hippie burger. The meat tastes like meat (slightly cooked too much this day but didn't detract) and I closely analysed the sauce and thought it largely tasted of a cheese-type base. This could be completely wrong and the burger overall was very good. It didn't have the bursting flavour of Bleeker St but had its own place and elements.

The chilli cheese fries were great and as good as I remember, and the reason I use their recipe to make my own layover chilli at home.

I'll be back, for £10 lunch or a non-queue dinner. I'll be back.

MEATliquor gifted me a free burger and side for my birthday. How excellent is that?

Instead of the burger I decided to go for the Chilli Dog as a substitute for the chilli fries. It's a decent frank and of course the chilli remains excellent.

The side was 3 crisp hash browns with a hot sauce and blue cheese.

I washed it down with the Black Forest shake (chocolate liquer, cherry liquer, chocolate, vanilla) £7.95.

I wish I had more birthdays during the year.