Pilpel, London 02-2017

This review is for the Aldgate branch that currently doesn't have its own Zomato entry.

I think I've finally found it. I've had two Middle Eastern dreams over the past 3 years. One is the incredible 25cent falafels I had in a tiny hole-in-the-wall in Amman, Jordan back in 2009. It was the first time (well, second after a street vendor somewhere around there) I had a freshly fried crisp falafel crushed in a pita and so pleasurable. The next was at the now closed Shoreditch pop-up of Yalla Yalla (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/yalla-yalla-london-02-2013-03-2013-05-2013-10-2013). Since then I've tried but failed to find an equivalent falafel. Until now.

Pilpel has excellent reviews for the best falafel in London. After trying it, I can't disagree.

The recipe is an Israeli one from many (many, many) years ago. At £5.80, it probably is the cheapest and best quality lunch available in London. Vegetarian also - chickpeas, salad, pita. The falafels are an exquisite combination of seasoned crisp dark sesame coatings and green slightly chunky blended insides. The humous, large pita and salad complement it well. I also got smoked aubergine but it wasn't necessary in the end.

I'd definitely prefer much more yoghurt sauce and chilli sauce with stronger impact to balance out the salty falafel and fresh salad. But it's a very good start.

Pilpel Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato