Pitt Cue, London 06-2016

I’ll always remember Pitt Cue Co. (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/pitt-cue-co-london-08-2012-12-2012) and the numerous meals at the bar or the downstairs wedged under the staircase and enjoying the thick beef ribs, tender pork ribs and a remarkable beef brisket. I was pleased to see they had expanded to a larger place, dropped the Co. to become Pitt Cue, and closer to the part of London I consider home. On top of this, they accept bookings so as a catchup between 8 friends was an obvious choice.

I do like Neil Rankin and so Bad Egg was another contender, as was Seth Troxler's Smokey Tails but those will have to wait until next time.

- Octopus – this was remarkably soft, tender and flavoursome. One of the best I’ve eaten that was sliced through by a blunt knife;
- Blood cake – I wondered if this was similar to black pudding. They said it was different but I would like it. This had a excellent deep flavour and a texture peppered with bits of rice and small fat cubes. Outstanding;
- Potato cakes – 4 heavily fried chips essentially. Very crisp and salty. Really not worth it;
- Bacon – a flavoured slice of pork with a fat cap. Not a flavour of smoke sadly;
- Courgette – crunchy vegetable slices topped with a crisp fry;
- Lamb breast for 2 – from the specials board a deliciously soft piece of meat with a mild flavour. I wanted the smoked lamb neck but was sadly sold out the moment before ordering;
- Pork jowl – a heavily salty cheek with a large surrounding fat layer on top. I prefer beef cheeks for the thicker meat and greater ability to become tender;
- Mangalitza pork – a pink tender medium rare cut with moderate flavour and perfect texture. An example of how quality pork can be cooked to a more specific degree;
- Bone marrow mash – softly and gently whipped, deeper beef flavour to stir through;
- Slaw – mildly flavoured, would’ve liked a bit more Spanish onion and tart vinegar;

I do think the meal was overall less impressive than my memories of Pitt Cue Co. The smokey flavour wasn't evident in many of the dishes and the rubs seemed to be more heavily on salt rather than spice or in some cases minimal spice at all. I've made the beef rib recipe from the book and it was on another flavour level to what I tried that evening. Perhaps a short trip back to the original dishes of beef and pork ribs, insane rib tips and the brisket is required for me. I'd definitely go back for the octopus and blood cake alone though.

My Pitt Cue Co. cookbook sits on my bookshelf and my Weber Smokey Mountain 22” in the garden in Melbourne waiting for me to create my own copycat versions.

Pitt Cue Co Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato