Red Arrow Train, Moscow & St. Petersburg 06-2013

One of the highlights of my trip to Russia was the Red Arrow Train from Moscow to St. Petersburg. Considering the train departs at 2355, I ended up lazing around the hostel chatting to a Mexican guy from the USA and one of the blonde Russian hostel receptionists. I eventually left and made my way to the station.

It isn't the fastest train (that is the Sapsan) but it's certainly the most famous. The train itself actually looks sleek and impressive. I spent a good few minutes peering through the windows into the higher class rooms and the dining cart.

The bed is comfortable, the other guests were courteous and quiet. After a pleasant sleep, I sat up to snack on the free box of breakfast items - a very average breadroll, a packet of water and a few snacks. Overall it was a pleasant trip which arrived at the estimated 0800.

St. Petersburg and the White Nights awaited - what a stunning city...