Soul Origin, Canberra 08-2015

Once upon a time I used to frequent Fitness First in Spitalfields. As much as I didn't enjoy the 10min run there, the weights, the X-trainer HIIT routine and the panting recovery on the mats afterwards, I always was happy to know I would have a good lunch on the way back. In fact the place I probably ate most frequently out of anywhere in London was probably Kastner & Ovens (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kastner-and-Ovens-Spitalfields/247714511943824).

Kastner & Ovens had a fantastic range of fresh salads made and varying daily. On top of that, two daily hot foods were also on offer, and for £5.50 the option of a large box of hot food + 3 salads or 5 salads soothed my aching muscles. I often wondered if somewhere that offered high quality salads could prosper in Australia. Unfortunately I hadn't seen anywhere that did it in either Melbourne or Canberra.

Walking through Westfield Woden I noticed this new food option - lots of fresh salads, some baguettes and hot drinks. $10.90 for up to 4 salads isn't a bad deal so thought I'd try it out. My combination this day was pesto barley, signature bean mix, Mediterranean salad, chicken schnitzel salad. Other than the nicely textured chicken schnitzel (more schitzel than chicken), the rest was relatively plain. The salads are fine for a lunch, but unfortunately not K&O level. The (complimentary with lunch) soy chai latte was quite syrupy and topped with a ridiculous amount of cinnamon powder. 

Oh well, I haven't found my K&O replacement yet, but this was a step forward Australia.

Woden is also soon regaining Kingsley's chicken - I can finally try their chips soon.