Tommi's Burger Joint, London 09-2013

My friends and I had spent a good part of our two years in London trying nearly all the available burger places. We'd have discussions over our favourites and disagreements. It started off with the grimey MEATliquor, had extended to Honest Burgers in Brixton, Lucky Chip in Broadway Market, various Byron Burgers, an unexciting visit to GBK (other than the free peanuts), the new Shake Shack, the rumours of Five Guys, my own experience near Shoreditch with a pop-up of Burger Bear, and most recently my friends' recommendations of Patty & Bun, and the one I never managed to get to in Dirty Burger. Gee that's a lot.

On our final burger expedition before they left London, we decided to try Tommi's which was reputed to be Icelandic burgers. None of us knew what that meant, but my friends who had been to Iceland said it was the home of their favourite hot dog. So how bad could the burgers be?

There was a short queue for seats in the tiny place where the food is visibly cooked from the ordering counter. The menu is short, very short and there's no need to ponder too long on the items that they must therefore do easily and well.

The cheeseburger amended to an "Epic Double Decker" £10 is outstanding. I wouldn't normally order a plain cheeseburger as I like other fillings for contrast but the beautiful beef patties where the beef is the prime ingredient and flavour is something that sounds silly but is extraordinary. 

It's a different type of enjoyment to the green chilli cheeseburger at MEATliquor but something great on its own. Maybe cheeseburgers are my way of the future, but tasting the pure beef patty in a burger really came alive that evening and it became my favourite in London.

Tommis Burger Joint Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato