Wonderbao, Melbourne 10-2012

Trying David Chang's pork bun at Momofuku Noodle Bar in New York City was an eye opening experience. Since then I have found an equivalent - Yum Bun in London. On my Saturdays off I will regularly go to Broadway market just to have two for myself. It gave me the idea of using it for my imaginary plan of a food van in Melbourne. Unfortunately I've been beaten to it by Wonderbao.

Tucked away in an area that is generally not visited other than by those who study across the road, Wonderbao has brought the Chinese bun as well as the more recently popular open circle version to a permanent store.

We tried a few different ones on this day - Braised Pork Belly, Roast Pork Belly, Fried Silky Tofu and Egg Custard. My favourite was surprisingly the Fried Tofu with its crispy flavoursome texture. The Braised Pork was also quite good. Surprisingly I didn't like the Roast Pork taste combination that much, maybe because I was expecting it to take like Yum Bun.

This was all washed down with freshly made soy milk, a lovely version miles apart from the carton we are all used to.

Next time I would order the Fried Tofu and Braised Pork. I would also try their version of the standard Char Siu Bao just for curiosity. Soy Milk is a must.

Wonderbao on Urbanspoon