363 Katong Laksa, Singapore 06-2016

I'd been craving laksa for a while even before travelling overseas. I was finally taken in Singapore to satisfy this to a place called 363 Katong Laksa. Looking online there's a few places claiming to be the "original" but as long as it is good, does it really matter?

The menus is simple - 4 iPads are available to order from a $4 laksa, otam, a build-your-own nasi lemak and drinks.

The nasi lemak is good - the ingredients included simple rice, excellent salty sambal, crispy textured of nuts and ikan bilis and a beautifully deep fried chicken skewer (soft meat, crunchy coating) to balance.

However the real star is the laksa - a curry soup that had almost no discernible coconut taste to it, but was replaced with a seafood based stock and peppered by the occasional (seemingly almost raw texture, which I don't mind) little clams that added huge flavour. Add in prawns and thick noodles cut to a length so that you only eat with a spoon, and I was hooked. The broth isn't overly thick and intense (as I tend to like) but I can't complain about how good it was. I couldn't work out what the green herbs I stirred through were but they definitely added depth (it didn't taste like any of laksa leaf, coriander, mint).

I can't say if I like this more than the standard Malaysian curry laksa, the multi-dimensional Thai laksa or a good quality Penang assam laksa, but I know I'll be back.