Agathe Patisserie, Melbourne 08-2016

I'm sure before there was the obsession with Lune (which I haven't tried), there was Agathe and a few others around (Noisette is excellent too). I've never been one to visit South Melbourne but now that I pass by to/from work, Chez Dre and Bibelot are there and the market itself is unexpectedly cheap, I'm a fan of the area.

Agathe have a constant production of treats and a queue of people lining the shopfront. It is definitely worth the wait for a $5 croissant, crisp and warm, buttery and soft and served by staff with French accents. So delicate are these that you need to be careful you don't crush it whilst attempting to grip it to tear.

I've tried the matcha croissants (slightly green and much sweeter) and the black one (I thought they said squid ink and cumin - it seemed to be a bit more savoury but not any real unique flavour I could discern) but neither come close to the satisfaction of the plain. The apple turnover had a decent filling but I wasn't a fan of the pastry - I prefer it thicker and chewier rather than flaky. The pistachio and cherry small dessert cake was nice too but I would like more pistachio flavour.

In the end I'll just stick to the plain croissants. At home I lined it with prosciutto and vintage cheddar, heated in the oven at 180C for 3-5 minutes. Fantastic.

Agath Ptisserie Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato