Albasha Restaurant, Aqaba 06-2021

Before the long drive from South Garden toward the hotel near the airport, we needed fuel. Food fuel that is. After one final morning Red Sea dip and snorkel, we decided the short detour to Aqaba for a decent lunch was worth the effort. Luckily even though it was the middle of the day, traffic wasn't too bad and we found a parking spot very near the falafel joint I had noted on Google Maps. Even though there weren't many reviews (4.7* from 11 reviews) it seemed like a nice spot a bit further away from the main road areas just to make access a little easier.

The cafe in a wall sits near a bunch of shops and locals (I assume) were about their day wondering why were there - maybe a combination of summer, Covid and the less central part of Aqaba.

The menu at this place is completely in Arabic. Unfortunately the owner (I assume) who was the falafel maker didn't speak English either. There was a man sitting at the door who helpfully translated for us. I thought he might have been an employee or cashier, but in the end realised he was a regular customer just helping us and the shop out.

I suppose being in a falafel place means you know what you're going to order anyway.

Bread, fol, falafel which were lightly crisp with a strong chickpea flavour, hummus, tahini salad. Everything had a lot of oil (hoping it was EVOO). A tasty meal washed down by their homemade ultra fermented ayran. And the price was JD4.

I can't say it was the best falafel I've ever had (probably at this point it's between this mysterious one I remember in Amman in 2009 although no idea where it was now, London's pilpel or my most recent local discovery Tahini in Fitzroy was phenomenal) but it was a good one and a great overall meal.