Aloo Paratha, Udaipur 01-2015

As soon as I showed the driver Harmindra the first page printout of this article (http://udaipurtimes.com/9-best-places-to-have-your-breakfast/), he instantly knew where to go. In fact he regularly takes his daytrip clients there for a nice filling breakfast.

I remember my first (and probably only other) experience with aloo paratha. Union House in Melbourne Uni has/had a ground floor curry place that served these huge aloo parathas - naan filled with big chunks of boiled potato. Back when I had them as lunch or a late afternoon snack in 2000-2002, I think I could get one for $1.50 (or even 2 for the price of 1 in the late afternoon). Those were the days. But those memories quickly faded as I tried the best aloo paratha in Udaipur. There is no comparison for quality or taste - Melbourne Uni paratha tastes like potato, Udaipur paratha tastes like flavour and satisfaction.

Upon arrival the surrounding mob of locals looked impressed that tourists were approaching. Harmindra gave the page printout to the owner, he showed it to the crowd and everyone cheered.

There are 3 parathas to pick from - aloo (potato), cauliflower and radish. You get 2 parathas, a massive slab of ghee or butter and a bowl of dal for Rs. 50. Wow.

- Aloo Paratha – a smooth potato blend served hot wedged between crispy wheat discs;
- Cauliflower Paratha - a different texture to potato with more crumble and a very mild flavour;
- Dal - incredibly good full flavoured dal. Look at the colour to see how different it is to the typical. As good as the paratha was, it was the vessel to transport the dal to my mouth.

Next time I would order either two aloo paratha or try one with radish. I'd ask for less (or even no) butter. I'd attempt to dedicate a day to getting to the other 8 places listed on that page but most of them aren't that convenient to walk to.