Blacklock Shoreditch, London 10-2018

I've been meaning to try Blacklock Sunday roast for a very long time. In fact, I actually had two previous bookings which I cancelled a few days beforehand due to other circumstances. Neither time did I feel bad, because I know someone else will pick up the booking. On the most recent occasion, I cancelled the Soho booking because I got a Shoreditch reservation for the same Sunday. Given the Shoreditch branch is newer and was offering a free round of drinks (as compensation for being one of the 4000(?) who couldn't get a soft launch booking), it seemed the better idea.

It's actually located on a relatively quiet street in Shoreditch near Tramshed, and on a Sunday lunch time there certainly wasn't anyone else around who wasn't going to the restaurant.

The roast menu is quite straightforward. The lamb belly ribs and pigs head do sound delicious, but luckily we didn't order them simply because the roasts were plenty enough for a large meal.

I tried both the 55 day aged beef rump £18 (first picture) and the Cornish lamb leg £17 (second picture). I was curious about the all-in but already ate pork the night before. I did see another table with a 6-person all in and the huge dump of meat and accompaniments was impressive to see.

Both the beef and lamb were expertly cooked, very pink and tender with minimal additives and seasoning. They actually do look kind of similar don't they? They just tasted like good meat. It was pretty tender too and a joy to eat. Yorkshire puddings were gladly not burnt, although didn't have that much flavour in themselves. Roast potatoes were crisp and soft on the inside. The side dish of roots and gremolata £4 was a nice dish of roasted vegetables with thyme and parsley.

Overall it was a very good roast. I'd have to say not as good as The Marksman (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/the-marksman-public-house-london-04-2018) or Harwood Arms (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/the-harwood-arms-london-10-2013). However it's cheaper and difficult to complain really.