Blue Chillies. Melbourne 09-2016

For a special occasion, Friday night was at the only modern Malaysian restaurant I like (and probably the only one I know). After recently reconnecting with this place in March (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/blue-chillies-melbourne-03-2016) it was time to share the joy around a bit more.

This occasion was certainly helped by the manager giving advice about dishes to order. The advice was to distinguish between some of the things on the menu that are aimed more toward the Western market (90% of their clientele), some toward the traditional Malaysian Chinese market, and some toward those with food preferences (eg. vegetarians). In the end that information will go a long way toward subsequent dinners there.

The menu has changed (or at least been given a facelift to a single sheet from a booklet). We asked if the dishes could be made spicier than usual but there was certainly nothing that packed much heat.

- Special of fried chicken wings marinated with pandan - a dish aimed for the Western market, these mildly seasoned chicken wings were adequate;
- Lohbak (spiced chicken wrapped in tofu skin) $8 - the manager served complimentary lohbak as he thought we would like this more. It's a far cry from the narrow chewy, oily versions that didn't enamour me during childhood. These were outstanding with thick meaty fillings and a crisp textured coating. Must easily be the best around and something I would not have ever expected myself to order and enjoy;
- Crispy rockling (with butter egg floss) $30 for main - the favourite of many at the table with tender fish and crisp salted batter. It was suggested salted egg would elevate this (flavourwise at least) but it doesn't suit the taste of the Westerners. Give it a try I say...;
- Thrice cooked duck (on a sauce of wild ginger flower, lemongrass, chillies and lime juice) $30 - still the best, still my favourite, I still can't work out how to make the sauce have such a perfect combination of sweetness, sourness and tanginess;
- Slow cooked duck rendang (with aromatic roasted spices & chillies) $30 - a dry curry which was nice but should have been much hotter for a rendang;
- Curry lamb (classic Malaysian curries slow cooked in traditional hometown spice) $25 - tender lamb in a lovely curry sauce. I probably preferred this to the duck rendang (which is unusual for me given dry curries and rendang are generally my favourite);
- Salt & pepper okra $19 - after the salt and pepper rockling, this was a much more plain option. It's marketed toward vegetarians. After seeing my comments from March, I wouldn't get this again;
- Gado gado $19 - a nice version with blocks of vegetables in peanut sauce. Probably could have used more seasoning. A nice break from the meats and heavy flavours but again would probably leave this for the vegetarians;
- Roti (x2) $8 - chewy, not particularly crisp. I preferred eating the dishes with rice.

The meal was fantastic overall and I managed to try several new things. I'd go back for the lohbak and thrice cooked duck. The other meat and fish dishes are good too and I'd opt for the spicy eggplant as my vegetable dish.

Blue Chillies Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato