Boulangerie Veziano, Antibes 11-2018

I read about pissaladiere being famous from Nice and Veziano serving the best in the region. It has olives and anchovies - it sounds like a pizza dream almost. I couldn't wait.

Sadly I don't understand the hype. Veziano serve a round full version or smaller square slices, but ultimately both looked the same in terms of ingredients. I had the round one for €5.6 and it was served to me cold (they didn't offer to heat it for me). But I put it in the oven at home anyway to simulate how I imagine it is supposed to be eaten fresh. 

It is an average thickness pizza or thin focacia type base, topped with a lot of caramelised onions (not bad) and some olives containing seeds (really??). No anchovies either. 

Is this really the best one? South France I'm disappointed. You need to find a signature pastry closer to the Kouign Amann.