Brodburger, Canberra 01-2016

I've finally left Canberra. Living in Kingston, the easiest and most accessible quick meal (which also served as an indulgence) was Brodburger. Wednesday even turned into The Bachelor and Brodburger night for a while. The mobile ordering app that saved the 30-40min wait there and allowed a timed pickup then the option to sit or takeaway was a God-send to many.

In the 2 years spent in Canberra, I've enjoyed Brod more than any other in town. There were multiple in 2014 (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/brodburger-canberra-2014) and certainly many more in 2015 including once at Broddogs (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/broddogs-canberra-02-2015). And during the final housemate meal on a Wednesday after we'd all slaved away packing our lives for removalists and bursting cars, it seemed a fitting end.

I've enjoyed 4 things particularly at Brodburger and have never been able to stray.

1) The easiest to discuss is the fries. $2.50 for good side serving is great value. Although they look like McDonald's, they are crisper and hotter (make sure you ask for fresh fries if they've been sitting in the bag and soft when you receive them) and less salty but enough seasoning such that they taste similar to the tears of enjoyment of the meal;

2) Brodburger - the simplest burger is the one I ordered 90% of the time. I used to ask for rare (instead of the default medium rare) but I don't think it made a difference and the burger was always enjoyable. A thickish good quality patty and an overall complimentary set of ingredients;

3) Brodveg - I'm not joking when I say there has never been a better vegetarian burger anywhere. The intense salty halloumi, the grilled eggplant, the tangy capsicum and there's more. I always took a few bites of someone elses so got lucky and didn't have to order it myself;

4) Brings me to the mother - Brodveg with beef patty (pictured). A friend suggested this one day and it combines the greatness of 2 and 3 together. Keep in mind, a full size one of these is huge and almost akin to the ridiculous size of Broddeluxe (which I wouldn't advise due to the size and to me disproportionate ingredients) and so a Baby Brodveg with patty might be the way to go.

I'll be thinking of you Brod. Thanks for the memories.

Brodburger Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato