Butchies, London 11-2018

Although there's many a fried chicken place, I haven't found any that compares to my beloved Belle's Hot Chicken (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/belles-hot-chicken-melbourne-02-2016). Nowhere I've found so far does the same degree of spice coating. They actually moreso rely on sauce.

Nonetheless Butchies in Shoreditch was on my list as a fried chicken to be reckoned with and I took the Franksgiving special (combined with Frank's hot sauce) as a reason to visit.

The fried chicken is surprisingly mild in flavour with the meat not heavily seasoned or salty at all. The batter is very crisp and fluffy with a little excess coating. The meat is very good and the wings are large in size. I tried their Wingfest winning Kimchi Honey-Butter version which was alright, but I much preferred the unusual sauce of the Franksgiving with cranberry and hot sauce. It was excellent.

The mini sliders had a great bread to chicken ratio with each chicken tender expanding well outside the boundaries. Similarly these pieces were crisp and juicy. Sweet potato were well fried and well seasoned.

I'll look forward to comparing them to Jollibee and Chick'n'Sours.