Caravan, London 03-2018

The new King's Cross developments are coming quickly with the next giant opening in autumn this year. For the moment Dishoom and the nearby Caravan are holding my attention. A friend mentioned their excitement that it was there and I remember thinking what's the big deal - they didn't impress me in Spitalfields. Then I realised there is no Caravan in Spitalfields and I was actually thinking of Giraffe.

Caravan is a different type of beast. The King's Cross one benefits from the industrial building with high ceilings and nice decor. There are bar areas to wait and a very cool vibe with a predominantly young (with or without prams) demographic.

Golden spiced milk £3 is the most intensely yellow beverage I've ever seen. The potent turmeric flavour accounts for this. I really like the earthy root flavour of this.

- Paprika and spring onion waffle, wild garlic, thick cut bacon, maple-date butter £12 - I didn't like the waffle that much. However the thick cut bacon was dense, slightly chewy and delicious;
- Seasoned brown rice, sesame salmon, avocado, miso mayonnaise, mung beans, pickled ginger, radish, furikake £11 - this cold dish had excellent sashimi salmon with a collection of beans and grains with tiny shiso leaves and avocado making up the flavours. Really enjoyable.

It doesn't have the same queue time as Dishoom (although there's still a wait on weekends) and the food is great. I'll definitely be back.

Caravan Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato