De Clieu, Melbourne 2011-2012

Gertrude Street is perfect for strolling and shopping in a more bohemian part of Melbourne. De Clieu is the pick in the area for coffee and breakfast cafes.

Seven Seeds coffee is pure and strong - just what you want. Soy Chai Latte is thick and frothy with a nice ginger accent.

The signature breakfast I came back for is the Pork Belly on Roti. A thick slab of juicy pork sits on top of a rather atypical roti. Not particularly flaky, with crispy edges but the area underlying the pork was rendered soggy. Perhaps serving them separately would work better. Nonetheless the flavour keeps me returning.

Since poached eggs are typically overcooked in London, I had to get my Melbourne fix. A simple Poached Eggs on Quinoa & Seed Sourdough (with warm tomato chutney) reminded me how great eggs and bread can be. The sourdough toast is fantastic. The poached eggs (one slightly overcooked, one perfectly runny) soaked yolk into the toast. Wonderful. The tomato chutney was warm and simple - adequate but unnecessary in my opinion.

Next time I would order the chai or coffee - depending upon what your inclination is. Poached Eggs will keep you satisfied. For something more unique, The Pork Belly on Roti is a good selection but try requesting the roti to be separate or to the side.

De Clieu Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato