Dojo, Cambridge 03-2013

Picking a dinner venue in Cambridge was difficult. Going on a Sunday meant a lot of the recommended gastropubs (The Oak, Cotto) were closed. That left the choice between St. John Chophouse and Dojo. In the end I decided upon Dojo, an Asian noodle cafe with a good reputation in quite a few lists of the Cambridge's choice budget eats and the also as an Asian place a level above the Clocal norm (the other being Yippee or Zhonghua).

Having been a little disappointed with London's noodle houses and given the wintry cold, I thought a bowl of Dojo's noodle soup would be best. One thing that did impress me was the Dojo manager responded to all the Tripadvisor reviews, often recommending the house specialty of udon.

Dojo Udon consisted of a very large bowl of housemade noodles, chicken, char siu pork, crabstick, prawn and vegetables. The broth is a very simple dashi, but seemed to lack the complexity I prefer in soups. I suppose it was partially my own fault as I'm never overly impressed by udon dishes and would have been much safer with some of their other selections - Laksa, Ramen, Tom Kha - and would go back to try this.

Next time I would order either the Laksa or Tom Kha. The appetisers sounded inviting too but given the size of the noodle bowls, it would be wasteful to order it without a few people to share.