Eataly, Rome 07-2012

There is an Eataly in New York that I intended to, but never made it to. On the evening that my friends went, I ended up at the truly remarkable Eleven Madison Park.

When I discovered there was another in Rome, my excitement was quickly diminished once I realised where it actually was. I shouldn't have been surprised considering an enormous department store-type supermarket couldn't exact be near the centre of tourist Rome. It is a long walk south. I could only recommend it after doing it myself with a planned stopover at 00100 in Testaccio.

Once inside though, it is a thing of beauty. There are firstly cooking instruments and appliances. I picked up a branded carry bag, some oven mitts and a nice cheese knife set. Then you proceed to walk around and up several floors past the cheese, the meats, the fish, the charcuterie, the pasta stations and more.

Naturally there are some cooking stations of which the pasta ones looked best. They are a little expensive compared to what you can get in Rome, and perhaps most disappointingly they use dried packet pasta instead of the fresh stuff made nearby. It's still worth the trip.