Eetkaffee Multatuli, Ghent 02-2012

It was a nice pleasant walk up to the northern part of Ghent and along the night river. The area was quite quiet and allowed me to take some nice scenic photos. Of course I only really ventured up here to eat at this busy bar and bistro which is known for Flemish food. This is apparently the Belgian-Dutch style more common the north of the country (obviously where it borders Netherlands).

Inside I tried my first ever Kriek - cherry beer. It was sweeter and milder than the usual beer (which I can't handle at all) but enough to make me a little heady. I went specifically there to try waterzooi - a Flemish fish-based stew that I had read about.

- Waterzooi van vis (met saffraansaus en krielaardappeltjes) €16 - fish stew with potatoes and saffron sauce. Also served light bread and dark rye which was useful to mop up sauce;
- Huisgemaakte brownie met vanille-ijs €5.5 - homemade brownie with vanilla icecream.

I had also read about the other local option of stoverij - a beef stew in dark beer. It sounds similar to Irish, but I'd like to try that next time.