Fillos, Canberra 01-2016

I was really excited to read about Fillos coming to The Hamlet. I'd long yearned for a souvlaki and as good as Yarralumla Pide House is, the flavour is just different to souvlaki (as it should be since they serve doner).

Unfortunately despite it being on my list, it seemed I'd never get there. I'd even removed it from my list given the realms of possibility. But after the hasty last night minute arranging of farewell drinks at Hopscotch, I knew it could be done.

After a few drinks (which is often the best time for souvlaki from a van), I ordered a lamb souvlaki. Overall it didn't live up to my expectations. The meat was from a kebab rather than a yiros and it seemed tough (where my standard is now Jimmy Grants (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/jimmy-grants-melbourne-01-2014) and didn't have the characteristic Greek-charcoal-oregano-lemon flavour (where my standard is the over-the-top flavour at Stalactites).

I'm looking forward to getting back to my favourites in Melbourne.

Fillos Souvlaki Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato