Fuente Alemana, Santiago 10-2016

Although perhaps not the most haute cuisine, I had read a lot about the local experience of lomito - Chile's pork sandwich that is iconic and an experience. The best of the lot (in Santiago at least) reputedly belongs to Fuente Alemana, which was conveniently close to where I stayed in Bellas Artes. The other sandwich contender is chacarero - a beef equivalent. In short these are essentially burger buns filled with meats and topped with your selection of things.

Fuente Alemana has been serving the masses for years and the artform is well known. After taking a seat around the square, you can order if you know what you want. If you don't, there's an English translated menu. Otherwise the more comprehensive menu is above the cashier in Spanish (and if you can read it, has many more options). After ordering, the waitress will confirm what toppings you want - if you don't understand, just agree. They know what to add. Luckily I knew what I wanted, because the chacarero is not listed on the English menu.

The classic completo lomito (CLP4,600) comes with sauerkraut, tomatoes and loads of mayonnaise. The pork sits in a vat near the grill and is removed to order, basted occasionally then loaded into the bread. It's a simple taste of each individual ingredient - boiled mildly salted pork, tomato, cabbage and loads of mayonnaise. I thought it would come with avocado also and in hindsight I would have added that.

The chacarero (CLP5,700) is made from pieces of medium-rare steak straight from the grill, topped with fresh tomato, soft boiled green beans and loads of mayo (theme here...). This is in my opinion a much better sandwich, with again just the individual ingredients singing out their own flavours. I guess I liked the steak a bit more than the pork and the green beans much more than the sauerkraut.

The bread is grilled also, but otherwise a plain burger bun - there is no brioche going on here. The mustard is seeded, a bit sweet but lacking any of the true tang of American or nose-firing hit of Dijon/English. I added some to the plate to swathe bits of meat around for some extra contrast. I ate in clean fashion with a knife & fork (as were the locals around me). The knife also helps to remove some of the excess mayonnaise.

After eating, the waitress gives you the bill. You can tip her directly at this point. Then proceed to the counter to pay the bill. After this, give the waitress back the newly stamped bill. Don't ask me why, it's what they do there.

Overall it was a large and satisfying brunch. Next time I would order the chacarero again. However they are best known for the lomito and so if having that again, I'd order the completo lomito with avocado (palto). Alternatively I'd try the modern-style chacarero I had on my list at the nearby Ciudad Vieja in Bellavista.

Fuente Alemana Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato