Gatsby's Pies & Pastries, Blackheath 08-2015

After an afternoon of horse-riding in the rain, I needed a snack to bide me over until the planned lamb dinner at Vesta. One of the staff at the riding place mentioned a pie place on the main road that she couldn't remember the name of. Something about a black sign with white or yellow writing. Gatsby's fit the description and I manage to sneak in about 5mins before closing time. I had hoped that this coincidence meant the leftovers would be discounted (as many places do) but unfortunately not.

A vibrant orange pie with thin mince topped with sweet potato mash was a bit different to the usual and quite impressive. The sausage roll was quite standard, as was the croissant.

Overall I personally prefer the very nearby Bakehouse on Wentworth, but this place is fine too.

Click to add a blog post for Gatsbys Pies and Pastries on Zomato