Gelateria Mo, Santiago 10-2016

Conveniently located across the road from Bellas Artes metro station and down the road from my accommodation, it was by chance I came across Mo. The words Gelateria Artesanales are music to my ears/eyes everywhere I go, indicating housemade (and higher chance of good quality) gelato.

Despite it being a coolish night, many were camped outside enjoying icecream, dessert drinks and other treats.

The specialty gelato flavour in Chile is Dulce de leche, a sweet caramel made from milk. And their own version tasted exactly like that, very sweet caramel but not sickeningly so. The other flavour that caught attention (due to a larger than the others container and also having the word Mo in the name) was the chocolate. It was an excellent quality dark chocolate version, with only modest sweetness finding a good balance between enough sweet for a dessert and keeping it not too sweet for a dark chocolate. It wasn't bitter like true dark chocolate which I wouldn't mind at all.

The gelato itself was thick and firm, great texture and barely had any melted areas even after 15mins of slow indulgence. I don't know how they derived that texture but it was a quality rarely seen in gelato. They also serve in a cup and give you a bonus cone of top to eat in our own creative ways.

Now that I've tried dulce de leche once, I'd next time balance the chocolate with a lighter flavour. And I hope one day they make my favourite pistachio in the future.

Gelatera M Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato