Hominy Bakery, Katoomba 08-2015

A zomato rating of 4.9?? Wow this must be some serious sourdough. How could I not go and see what it was all about? My all time favourite sourdough still remains from the seafood chowder at Boudin in San Francisco. Canberra's Autolyse does an excellent version too, but I still prefer something stronger and tangy-er.

I only purchased a pumpkin sourdough from Hominy. In retrospect I probably should've bought an extra loaf and even a croissant to make use of my being all the way in the mountains. This became more apparent after I tried the sourdough. The pumpkin sourdough is soft in native form, and is completely enhanced with a firm crust and springy texture with light toasting. It could use a little more tang but is still excellent. I'm a bit unclear where the pumpkin part comes in - I assume it has juice added to the dough mix to add more flavour and colour?

Who knows. It's damn good.

Click to add a blog post for Hominy Bakery on Zomato