Hua's Restaurant, Beijing 01-2010

This spicy restaurant was located in an alleyway just behind my hostel. It made for an easy escape in the sub-0 freezing Beijing winds.

The boiled crayfish with chilli (Y5 each) was one of the specialties and the searing hot chilli in the dish was emphasised by giving gloves to peel and eat them fish. It was very hot and the dizzy sweats prevailed, but so did I. The chilli oil burnt through the gloves and getting the heat and odour off my fingers took more than a day. It was an experience.

The braised shark's fin & abalone in soup (Y218) finished off this expensive meal.

The next night I didn't really know where to eat and so ended up back at the familiar place. I think the English in the menu helped my decision in that I know I'd get to eat what I want and the food was good. I ordered cheaper more standard dishes like cumin lamb and boiled chicken.

I left happily fed.