Ibu Oka 3, Ubud 12-2014

Balinese suckling pig is one of the specialties to try. Ibu Oka is listed on practically all the Ubud food recommendation lists I read, including some in email form forwarded to me by friends of locals. I suppose it ends up being one of those well touristed places for good reason - they have damn good suckling pig.

There are two locations - a smaller closer to town one that seems to be the one that is listed everywhere. Additionally there is a larger restaurant not too far away, where all the pork is cooked and then transported to the smaller venue. Luck should have it on this day that our driver took us to the mothership (I wanted to go here preferentially and the driver thought the other was closed, even though it actually wasn't).

The menu is quite simple - suckling pork, fried pork, pork skin or pork sausage.

The special (rice, vegetables, pork roll, fried meat, sausage, skin) is the generic sampler plate to try. On this occasional it actually also came with some kind of boiled jackfruit (had none of the sweetness associated with usual jackfruit I'm used to). After sampling each of the porks, the best is really the fried meat with its exquisitely delicious savoury flavours. This was possibly the most flavoursome morsel of everything eaten in Bali. The suckling pork meat is nice also, but I think I like the Spanish version better.

In any case, try for yourself. I will again.

Babi Guling Ibu Oka Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato