Ka Sushi Ramen, Canberra 09-2014

My ramen cravings became a desperate search for something of the like in Canberra. Unfortunately there aren't many/any I could find that offer my favoured tonkotsu style.

Perhaps I gave this place a little benefit of the doubt given it is in the Asian restaurant section conveniently located next to Roti House. I had read it was owned/run by Chinese and that the ramen reflected this. I have to agree - the noodles are fine as a soup dish, but I would be hard pressed relating it to the Japanese versions. The tempura as part of it was actually quite nice - well textured batter and prawn, albeit heavier than the typical Japanese style.

The takoyaki wasn't especially crisp, nor was there a hidden surprise chunk of octopus. The flavour combination was there but nothing more. Agedashi tofu was reasonable with a broth worth drinking.

I'll keep looking around. But for now, it'll have to wait until trips to Melbourne and Sydney.

Ka Sushi Ramen on Urbanspoon