Konjo Cafe & Restaurant, Melbourne 02-2016

I knew that Konjo sounded familiar but I couldn't place it. Even the tribal orange coloured sign looked familiar. It wasn't after the meal when the host said there was a branch in Collingwood did it make sense. I'm sure I've been once on Smith Street.

Considering the much more well known Lalibela is next door, it's a curious question why I ended up in Konjo. Two reasons - I needed to use credit card that day (and Lalibela is cash only) and I had read Konjo had a buffet for around $15 per head. In the end Konjo didn't have a buffet. Looking now at the website the buffet is only Friday and Saturday lunches but the a la carte isn't much more expensive anyway.

As three of us were eating, we ordered three dishes which were served together. The injera is dark and so extra sour. It isn't for the faint hearted or those very new to Ethiopian cuisine. Indeed once when I bought a pack of 5 (for $5!!) from Flemington Road I couldn't eat them all due to sour overload (and they don't keep long at home before mould or drying out in the fridge). However for a once off meal, the extra tang really does bind the flavours of the dishes together.

- Beyeinatu (6 vegetable sampler) $14 - a colourful assortment of split peas, lentils and vegetables. None were individually great (often I find one of the vegie dishes supreme) but a good combination for variety;
- Lamb misto $14 - half lamb kai wot (spicy stew in onions, garlic and berbere which I liked more) and half lamb alicha (non-spicy stew with potatoes, carrots cooked in turmeric, onions & garlic);
- Doro Wot (single piece of chicken marinated in lemon, simmered in onion, garlic & spice blend with a hard boiled egg) $16 - they told me this was hot and having made it from scratch before I can attest that it can be fiery. However this version was very mild and sweet which was unexpected. I think I do prefer the hotter more savoury version.

I did like the extra tangy injera and will next time request that at all Ethiopian places. Overall I have liked the stews at Lalibela and The Abyssinian better previously.

Next time I would order the beyeinatu (for vegetables and contrast) and the lamb kai wot or try the half/half (beef tibs and rare kitfo) or the fried lamb derek tibs. It's a communal eating experience so there should be opportunity to order several types. Otherwise there's always the buffet option!

Konjo Cafe  Restaurant Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato
1 response
Hi Ushi, I am “My Food World”, a Big Foodie in Zomato Brisbane. I am doing a PhD at QUT. Unfortunately I had a stroke 6 months ago but I am now better and came back to continue my study and write restaurant reviews. I am writing to ask if you could participate in my online survey. I am trying to understand why “people like us” write reviews. It will take around 5-10 minutes to finish my survey. So I think it takes a lot less time to do my survey than it does to write our reviews. I really hope that you can help me out. You can also get a $10 Coles voucher for your participation. Please click the survey link https://survey.qut.edu.au/f/185351/9748/. Feel free to share this survey with your foodie friends and family members. Thanks heaps. P.S. Can you please let me know when you finish my survey? :) Cheers, Saranya