La Cuchara de San Telmo, San Sebastian 06-2012

San Sebastian pintxos stop #2. Probably my favourite restaurant of the lot in terms of flavours and the one place I missed out on back in 2009 (as it was closed on the day I tried). The food is outstanding. I often have reservations about the most highly recommended places in LP and RG, but this time it was spot on for a reason.

- Carrillera de Ternera al Vino Tinto - veal cheek in rioja red wine sauce;
- Vieira Toro Ennuelta Tocino Bellota - large sea scallop wrapped with Iberico bacon;
- Oreja de Cerdo Iberico Asada y Crudiente - roasted crunchy pork ear.

The ingredients sing to me - cheeks, ears, scallops. The menu also contains trotters, foie gras, suckling pig, octopus... what more could you want? If it wasn't for it being a pintxos crawl, I would have stayed longer.