La Moule Sacree, Brussels 02-2012

During the conference I came to Brussels for, I met an old work colleague I hadn't seen since 2010. After the daily activities finished, we went for a quick wander and drink in Grand Place and then in search of food. Clearly not the restaurant researcher I am, he chose a random on the street place (after I steered him away from Rue des Bouchers) which had a reasonable looking dinner daily set.

The locally-inspired Menu Bruxellois
- Fondus au Fromage "Maison" (housemade cheese croquettes)
- Carbonnades Flamandes à la Leffe Brune (Flemish beef casserole with dark beer) - heavily cooked and chewy meat;
- Glace au Speculoos (icecream with Belgian biscuit) - quite a nice nutty sweet dessert with firm texture.

This €25 set isn't bad, but I'm sure there is better around for the price.