La Tortue Du Sablon, Brussels 02-2012

One of the most highly rated places in Brussels is Le Wine Bar Du Sablon. I went past here a few times are considered if I should enter. I think my own inability to actually enjoy wine prevented me from doing so and I moved on to somewhere I'd feel less judged. After all going to a wine bar without drinking wine is akin to a steakhouse for a vegetarian?

Anyway along Rollebeek Street I came across La Tortue Du Sablon. I know there's no relationship but the Sablon part caught my eye first due simply to familiarity with the word. Secondly came the little turtle of which there was also a baby turtle faux-leather door stopper that I also have in Melbourne. I was sold upon eating here.

The menu was quite pricey. The truffle menu enticed me so much but I had to resist due to the sheer amount I had spent of food this Belgium trip. So during a lunchtime break in my conference, I wandered in as the only soul there at the time. The express menu (€32.50) had all the ingredients of dreams.

- Goose liver & black truffle, coulis of duck sauce and bread - very intense foie. I wasn't able to finish it given the size and how rich it was;
- Half Lobster cooked with lemon thyme & vegetables;
- Cherries with chia seeds & caramelised creme anglaise.

The food and interior seem more suited to a cosy fine dinner place. However considering the lunch set is half the price, it makes sense as a business lunch or a self-rewarding upmarket lunch for 1.