Les Brassins, Brussels 03-2012

My first night in Brussels this trip left me a little flat. I had been there previously in 2009 also, but this trip reaffirmed to me that even though the Grand Place is remarkable to wander through at night and enjoy the atmosphere and people-watching, there isn't much else to do as a solo visitor who has to get up in the morning.

The result of this was an extensive walk where I ended up at the furthest away food location on my list. This far south restaurant brought me into streets far away from crowds and anyone else that looked touristy. The main reason to come here was for classic Belgian food, particularly to eat their renowned dish rabbit in cherry beer, drank down with a bottle of cherry beer (kriek).

- Lapin a la kriek (2 rabbit legs in cherry beer sauce) - I wasn't as enamoured with this as I hoped. The meat was cooked through but not as tender and moist as rabbit can be. The sauce was fine without being particularly special;
- Stoemp (mashed potatoes mixed with vegetables of the day).

There are all the Belgian staples to try here - mussels, waterzooi, beef stew, fries, tartare. Something to try for everyone. I'd be willing to try this place again if I had the enthusiasm and effort and walk down this far.