Les Filles du Micocoulier, Antibes 11-2018

One of the beauties of Brittany was the galettes. I'm less a fan of crepes, but galettes are great and so difficult to make at home (not that I've tried, but Serious Eats have). I suppose if I was French, I'd probably be a cider and galette Breton.

This creperie in Antibes has an excellent location with outdoor seating on this cool but sunny late autumn day, overlooking the queue for socca in the market and the general slow bustle of central Antibes.

The galettes themselves had a good flavour and crispness, although I have to admit not as crisp/burnt nuttiness as I had in Brittany, but they exceeded their counterparts in terms of ingredients and generosity.

- Braque (smoked duck breast, mushrooms, emmental cheese, fresh cream) €13 - this work of art was excellent. The edges were crisp and browned, there was excess cheese nearly all the way to the edges, the amount of duck and mushrooms was generous, and it served a full meal. The flavour as mentioned above could have used a bit extra buckwheat burnt nuttiness, but I can't complain too much. I wonder if adding egg to the batter made it more neutral in flavour?;
- Smoked salmon, egg, chives, cream, salmon eggs mico-roll €11 - I haven't seen the roll version in France before, but only in the new(ish) London restaurant (http://eatlikeushi.posthaven.com/lami-malo-london-01-2018). This flat rolled up version was ok. I couldn't detect any salmon roe particularly. It paled in comparison to the classic style.

I'd stick with the classic styles and any of them. Didn't have the stomach space to try a crepe.